If you already have a 3D printed face&channel or backing&channel unibody channel letter part, you want to 3D print the rest of the letter. This is a guide for you.
Please note that this is not a ready-to-use built-in feature in FormLetter. You will need to switch between FormLetter and 3rd party design software to edit and export the vector file.
Export the DXF file, convert it to SVG file, then import it into FormLetter slicer, to generate a solid face, in this way, you can 3D print a unique face or backing.
Open the DXF file with Illustrator (Please note to open the file with the original size, don't scale it)
Now the letter is combined with short paths, you need to connect all of them. Press Ctrl+A to select all the paths, then Ctrl+J (or go to menu "Object→Path→Join”) to join all the paths together
Go to menu "Object→Path→Simplify” to reduce nodes on the path
Press Shft+Ctrl+S to save the path with SVG format
Import the SVG into the slicer: "File → Import→Import STL/STEP/SVG/OBJ/AMF"
Select the "Scale" tool on the tool bar
Unselect "Uniform scale" first, then set the Z size to the proper thickness of the backing, let's say 3mm
solid 3D printed backing
hollow 3D printed backing (note the settings at the left side of the interface)
Slice with the default settings to 3D print a solid backing (if the channel letter will be installed indoor, you can choose to slice with 0 top shell layers and 60% infill to save some time and material).
the pattern is a combination of a lot short paths, you need to connect all of them
join all the short paths and simplify the connected path
Open the DXF file with Illustrator (Please note to open the file with the original size, don't scale it)
Now the letter is combined with short paths, you need to connect all of them. Press Ctrl+A to select all the paths, then Ctrl+J (or go to menu "Object→Path→Join”) to join all the paths together
Go to menu "Object→Path→Simplify” to reduce nodes on the path
Press Shft+Ctrl+S to save the path with SVG format
Click "Slice plate" button to preview the G-code file
Move the layer preview bar to the first infill layer, then right-click your mouse, go to "Change filament" to select the second filament you added just now
Click "Slice plate" again, move the layer preview bar to the top to preview the whole G-code again
A dual color texture face is ready for 3D printing